Kelly Clarkson
My December

RCA
2007
B
Reviewed by: Josh Love
Reviewed on: 2007-07-03



Posted 07/03/2007 - 08:24:34 AM by dmoore:
 Thanks for reminding all reviewers who claim that "Irvine" is Kelly's best (or only good[!!]) track on this album that they are coffee house hipsters. It also sounds just like Radiohead's "Exit Music for a Film," which is basically a proto-Starbucks ballad with a bit of musique concrete thrown in there. And I'm all for Starbucks balladry when it's good, like "Irvine." Also, no one I've read yet has mentioned "Judas," which is the best song!
 
Posted 07/03/2007 - 09:43:09 AM by gregarious:
 i do not claim to be a sophisticate. I am willing to admit that I enjoy some straight up pop songs. But there is no way that American Idol has given the world a "shitload of good tunes." I cannot name a single good song by any American Idol winner. And just because I think that every American Idol winner is terrible does not somehow make me an elitist. This is bad, assembly line music designed for mass consumption.
 
Posted 07/03/2007 - 11:58:48 PM by boilingboy:
 Stylus is like George Bush: You can hem and haw, but they're still going to do the same odious crap whether anyone likes it or not. This isn't music...it's product; and no amount of self-serving bullshit about being "anti-hipster" is going to change that. There is plenty of deserving pop music out there which we never hear about in Stylus....but RCA pays better.
 
Posted 07/04/2007 - 07:15:34 AM by meatbreak:
 I don't really think Stylus benefits from reviewing stuff like this, in terms of backhanders and incentives going on Boilingboy, but I agree with what you say and I've said it before, so I'm commenting again here for reiteration. No way this shit is worth a B, unless you're in a parallel place. Product is right. Meh, I bore myself.
 
Posted 07/04/2007 - 03:46:43 PM by theresafield:
 the anti-rockists are becoming the new rockists -- discuss
 
Posted 08/02/2007 - 02:45:25 AM by yarn24:
 Let's keep in mind that this is the same reviewer that gave Miranda Lambert's new album an A. So basically, if you like this sort of tripe then this review can be trusted. If not, stay away like the plague.
 
Posted 08/02/2007 - 02:49:39 AM by yarn24:
 I'm going to rant a little bit more. I'm amazed that this publication gave this a B and Interpol a D. It's like Stylus is trying to gain (or maintain assuming they already have it) credibility by giving good scores to mainstream, mindless pop-rock and bad scores to once critically-acclaimed indie-bands. You just can't sit there and say Paul Banks' lyrics are sophomoric and ridiculous and then, with a straight face, say Kelly Clarkson's aren't. And you can't give her a free pass by saying, "Oh, it's pop music, it's okay if the lyrics are shit." Every album should be judged on the same level, no matter the genre, and Stylus just simply isn't doing that.