The Walkmen
A Hundred Miles Off

Record Collection
2006
A-
Reviewed by: Derek Miller
Reviewed on: 2006-05-22



Posted 05/22/2006 - 12:43:33 PM by draglikepull:
 This is easily one of the top few albums I've heard all year. I completely agree with Derek that there are no lulls in the album, it's a great listen from start to finish.
 
Posted 05/22/2006 - 02:53:27 PM by idunnowhy:
 definitely a good album, though I need to listen to it more. The only thing that kind of puts me off is Leithauser's at times irritating voice. I kind of wish he'd go back to the more subdued vocals of the first album rather than the "Rod Stewart to the max" tone he's been going for lately... oh well.
 
Posted 05/22/2006 - 02:55:38 PM by bloodyhell:
 Great album. Here's a blog with mp3s off 3 of their albums. http://mountaintosound.typepad.com/mountaintosound/ although...one is "The Rat"
 
Posted 05/22/2006 - 03:18:40 PM by bassman08:
 "The Rat" is really overrated. "Wake Up" is, by far, their best song as well as the song that got me hooked on them
 
Posted 05/22/2006 - 04:41:23 PM by BeingaBunny:
 good point, bassman
 
Posted 05/22/2006 - 11:26:28 PM by postman:
 "They bought Bows and Arrows; they played track two." Indie snobbery is alive and well on Stylus.
 
Posted 05/23/2006 - 01:37:22 AM by diggles:
 He's got a point though; a LOT of people listened to Bows + Arrows strictly because of "The Rat," which is a shame because "Thinking of a Dream I Had" is post-early-U2 (why do no reviewers see the connection?) bliss and the title track is my personal fave.
 
Posted 05/23/2006 - 04:27:57 AM by leithauser2008:
 Thanks, Derek, for really getting The Walkmen. Been a fan of their since the first album came out. Before the Saturn commercial, before The Rat, before the O.C., before the MTV music awards... God bless 'em.
 
Posted 06/06/2006 - 10:27:06 AM by Kezman:
 This is a great album. I'll admit that 'The Rat' was the first exposure to the band I had, and it took a long time to get into 'Bows + Arrows,' which was not the album I was expecting based on that single. Now, as a fan, I'm really impressed with the new album. I find it more immediately accessible than 'Bows + Arrows,' and stronger as a whole album. Drums and percussion play a far greater role on this album, which to me is a big plus point.
 
Posted 06/12/2006 - 01:47:25 PM by cwperry:
 U2 albums bore me enough, I don't need Walkmen albums to add to the stack, "Rat" or no.
 
Posted 06/27/2006 - 01:07:16 PM by diggles:
 I finally heard this album over the weekend and IT FUCKING RULES, period. You pussies need to bow down. That's fine, I'll wait .............