Broken Social Scene
Broken Social Scene

Arts and Crafts
2005
B+
Reviewed by: Derek Miller
Reviewed on: 2005-10-05



Posted 10/05/2005 - 11:41:52 AM by :
 Reviewed too early. I aint heard it yet but like YFIIP you would need to spend a month with this to get your fingernails under it's dirty skin and pick out the forensics. I know, you gotta be timely & relevant...so I say at least give it 50 plus spins over a long weekend before even thinking about putting fingertip to plastickey. And that goes for that other 3 pronged review over the road in the next door neigbour"s virtual space, too.
 
Posted 10/05/2005 - 12:29:55 PM by Parallel_5ths:
 Ah, but review copies come out well early. So while you or I have only had 24 hrs with this, these folks may have had it for weeks.
 
Posted 10/05/2005 - 01:16:55 PM by ckramer:
 listen to a broken social scene record 50 times? ugh. i like this record pretty well though, and i used to be a bss hater.
 
Posted 10/05/2005 - 07:24:10 PM by :
 Mm, they may have had it for weeks, in which case there's no excuse to write a review that reads like shiny chromium plating. A scrambled reflection of the reviewer's pyschological response to the 'sound' of this BSS record. It's easy to describe sound. Hmm, without hearing it yet, the new BSS wields static like a fusillade of lightsabre-fingered drones taking out a thermonuclear reactor. Or some such meaningless verbiage, "threshing grist out of miscellany" "your hair knotted by its thrashing" etc etc. We already KNOW that. No, no, I want subtly nuanced listening directives based on theories of where this album fits its art into the year 2005 and more. I want MORE!
 
Posted 10/05/2005 - 08:50:29 PM by manis5:
 the funny thing ,disexists, is that there are most likely people out there that take that last comment seriously.
 
Posted 10/06/2005 - 01:19:26 AM by IanMathers:
 Funny, I only needed a good five or six listens to YFIIP to know it was overrated.
 
Posted 10/06/2005 - 07:35:05 AM by :
 After one listen I can hear a roach burning the singer's left index finger, a microphone around his neck in the other. One of these tracks he's getting a balljob while recording the vocals. There was meant to be a naked party in the studio ala Hendrix style but these hipsters weren't quite louched enough; envies & jealousies screwed comradeship & musicianship, quivery tension, someone singing on another track's got a broken nose. I sense a mini-caligula baby-screaming in the studio, the Svengali type figure at the helm is getting his boys to marry all the local gals, Kevin the conqueror. There it is; the will to sexuanimalise. We got track 6 or 7, a montage of porn from the discovery channel, the zoo of Toronto's ethnic inbreeding. Toronto, Uqbar, Orbis Tertius. As listener's, even our ears pass off as drums here making our being-in-the-music musicians ourselves. You should've got a sleeve credit & then smacked Emily Haines in the gut. The message does get a little skewed on BSS, it all comes out as groin sweat to me. YFIIP overrated? You should've got a sleeve credit for that succinct one word self-reflexive review. We can all be BS now.
 
Posted 10/08/2005 - 02:24:24 PM by goongumpas:
 I love every song on "You Forgot It In People." So I wanted to like this new album, I really did. But it's a turd. I've listened to it three times already and I don't think I can listen to it again. There's just nothing there. All they did was record an hour-long jam session. :( Maybe next time, BSS...
 
Posted 10/09/2005 - 05:52:00 PM by BeingaBunny:
 It's not a turd. Actually, it's a pretty decent album. Maybe you skipped "Our Faces Split the Coast in Half," "Ibi Dreams of Pavement (A Better Day," "7/4 (Shorline)," "Major Label Debut," "Fire Eye'd Boy," "Windsurfing Nation," "Swimmers," and "Superconnected." And to call it an hour-long jam session is stupidity. The production on this album is way fuller than YFIIP (which was actually an under rated album). Just thought I'd set the record straight.
 
Posted 10/10/2005 - 12:10:01 PM by goongumpas:
 Stupidity huh? I listened to it three times and I could never get into it. Not a single song made a real impression on me. That's not stupidity, that's just my honest emotional reaction to the album. Again, I loved YFIIP. Just thought I'd set the record straight.
 
Posted 10/10/2005 - 12:51:39 PM by BeingaBunny:
 I'm not saying your opinion is stupidity, just that to call it an hour-long jam session is. No offense other than that. But this isn't the String Cheese Incident if you know what I mean. lol
 
Posted 10/10/2005 - 07:49:58 PM by cwperry:
 I'm right there with you, goongumpas, ready to call it nothing more than an hour-long jam session. The songs on this record barely sound like songs, but rather studio jam rave-ups with very little substance but lots of attempts at majesty that leave one feeling like they've ingested tons of empty calories. Regardless of the fact that I detest the hip-hop flavor that creeps in from time to time (e.g. the little blast of rapping that occurs in one tune whose name I forgot; the "yo yo yo, bring that beat back" yammering that occurs here and there), even the songs that sound exciting ("Ibi Dreams of Pavement"; "7/4") are fairly hollow once you get to know them. Sure, those songs jam out . . . once again bringing to mind a jam session with fairly little aim other than producing a semblance of majesty that doesn't even touch the hem of the admittedly weak Polyphonic Spree's best moments. Unfortunately, this album comes off as a demonstration of feeble hipster schizophrenia.
 
Posted 10/12/2005 - 01:06:52 PM by whiteboysushi:
 It's no YFIIP, I didn't like it at all on first listen... but I love it now. Personally, I'm a big fan of the hip-hop-informed aspects of the album, but I can see how they could be a divisive issue. I don't understand how this album can sound so totally different from YFIIP when it's using so many of the same sonic elements, but somehow it does.
 
Posted 10/13/2005 - 11:08:46 AM by whiteboysushi:
 Ugh, this is really weird. I almost never have a proactive desire to listen to this album, but as soon as I put it on, I fall in love with it and never want it to stop. Usually that only happens to me with Nabokov novels.
 
Posted 10/14/2005 - 01:22:41 AM by ieatseeds:
 oh my god, people are such nerds. it's just an album. could you possibly BE any more pretentious? yous sound like the chic in my english class who says "oh my goodness" and claims she is the most resistant person in the world to commericialism while wearing low rise jeans and has her belly button pierced. ah christ.
 
Posted 10/16/2005 - 03:07:11 AM by cwperry:
 To ieatseeds, and the world: this steaming pile gets my vote for Worst Album of the Decade.
 
Posted 10/16/2005 - 03:24:43 AM by cwperry:
 I just e-mailed this to my brother, privately, but I figured I may as well piss ieatseeds off some more and post it here: One thing I wanted to articulate that I still haven't is that this album is perhaps the most striking example I've ever seen of a band believing the hype written about them and trying to top themselves for the very people who created the hype. Buying into the man. Trying to kiss the hand that feeds you. Selling out, if you will. Just embarassing. This band would be NOWHERE in America were it not for Pitchfork's last-minute cut-out bin sympathy review that turned out to be high praise. The dude behind this group fell hook, line, and sinker, and deliberately tried to create an album that would cater and pander to the demographic he thinks will carry him on its shoulders into the sunrise when the White House burns down and stupid skinny emo boys with bedhead and bad sneakers run the government. This album is really the nadir of post-modern hipsterism, I am serious.
 
Posted 10/16/2005 - 03:39:19 AM by cwperry:
 Mr. Miller: the album's not just a "cinder in the eye of all indie-haters," it's a cinder in the eye of many self-respecting music lovers of ANY type. For instance, someone who values SONGS. Hell, you don't even have to be a "songist," to use Stylus-speak - a self-respecting John Cage freak would hate this pap, too. God, this album makes me want to go wash my hands with a Kentucky Headhunters album or something. And that's coming from a guy who's constantly ribbed for being MR. INDIE by people he knows. Flush this damned thing.
 
Posted 10/16/2005 - 01:30:04 PM by l_p_4_7:
 OK, that's enough...you've made your point; you don't like this album. Now for god's sake, stop trolling. There's no need to be a loser and keep replying to yourself.
 
Posted 10/20/2005 - 01:06:23 AM by Travis_Parker:
 Thank you, cwperry for posting 3 masturbatory comments in a row. We're sick of you now, so kindly shut your face and don't talk again. I'm not sure why people think this album lacks actual songs. 7/4 (Shoreline) and Superconnected are both tied for 45 plays apiece on my iPod, and I've only had those songs for maybe a month. Lack of songs? Pull your head out. Granted, I only bought the album today (Along with Wolf Parade, I gotta stay caught up despite lack of funds) but I've had several songs from it for awhile. I was incredibly excited for it to come out, and it took me awhile because I read reviews and it didn't live up to the singles I had heard, but now I have it. And I'm excited to listen to it. YFIIP is still new to me, and I'm still listening to it, but Anthems for a Seventeen Year Old Girl has been stuck in my head for about 4.5 hours now. I don't hear much jamming on [I]BSS[/I] and I've had half of the album downloaded from random blogs. Obviously it could only be 30 minutes of jamming, in that case. Much of it is excellent, and all of it is good. It isn't a bunch of jams. That's like, Frances the Mute, which I'm sick of at this point. If only Cedric and Omar could turn it down. I forgot their drummer's name for the moment, but TMV needs to give the guy a chance to do some drumming instead of keeping them in check all the time. Well, another time another argument, I guess. BSS is one of the best Canadian indie bands. Hands down. The Arcade Fire's my number one, but BSS is creative and new. I love them. And cwperry, quit being a troll. Sure, it's great fun to start an argument, but at least do it without massive hyperbole. Worst Album of the Decade. Surely Weezer deserves that far more.
 
Posted 10/20/2005 - 08:47:06 PM by ieatseeds:
 ah Christ--I don't know, I love this whole call and response Stylus reviews and we comment type of thing here, but sometimes it is highly thought-provoking to investigate which albums the most people are the most passionate about in either direction (love it or hate it). It always tends to be these type of albums that were big three years ago and slowly but surely started to knock on mainstream's door. People get pissed that the bands/tunes they liked to listen to solitarily in their rooms three years ago are now being enjoyed by the plebes. In short, what I'm trying to say is: If there was no 'You Forgot it in People'--a good percentage of people right now would be quietly enjoying it right now even though most would agree it's not the BEST ALBUM EVER. But I'm going to align myself with the planets here and make a prediction that it's not the WORST ALBUM OF THE DECADE. Ahhhhhh, there's stuff I like on this record, and stuff I don't, but you know. That's subjectivity for ya. Oh and cwperry I really wasn't referring to you in particular, but just to that general attitude that seems to attack bands of BSS' caliber that are hit with the backlash of putting out one great album and then trying to come back with something equally as great. It's just problematic. Boooooooo.
 
Posted 10/22/2005 - 12:43:54 AM by Travis_Parker:
 I don't think any BSS album is blow-you-away amazing. I've listened to this album all the way through 3-4 times now, and while it doesn't match Wolf Parade (which I got the same day) it is quite good. I think I like this better than YFIIP, but in general it's hard to trump an amazing album, totally. I'd say Radiohead is one of the few to have done it recently. Interpol couldn't do it, Led Zeppelin couldn't do it, Grandaddy couldn't do it, et cetera. So for those that think this bombed compared to YFIIP, think of the absolute greats that couldn't do it. I'm also not one of those indie kids that gets so mad when his favorite band gets popular. I get mad that they get screwed into being poor. Give them money if they're good.
 
Posted 10/25/2005 - 06:17:12 PM by revolvingatom:
 this may be the greatest collection of comments about an album review ever.
 
Posted 10/27/2005 - 02:55:06 AM by bj_randolph:
 Travis- which LedZep album are you talking about?
 
Posted 10/29/2005 - 10:21:31 PM by kriminal_01:
 Lush, layered dense and complex production in a pop song. What's not to love about this band? With so much trash "music" floating around today, why so many complaints about THESE guys?
 
Posted 11/03/2005 - 06:04:53 PM by cwperry:
 Aw, you guys are right, what was I thinkin', it's the best album of the decade
 
Posted 11/19/2005 - 12:22:22 AM by BeingaBunny:
 It's hard to believe how stupid some people are. :)
 
Posted 11/23/2005 - 03:54:01 PM by cwperry:
 . . . or drunk. Geez, was I shitfaced when I wrote all those "masturbatory" comments above. Imagine my shock when I reread them sober . . . and agreed with them!
 
Posted 12/11/2005 - 12:45:03 AM by hibeside:
 I think some of the songs reach these extreme uber release of horns and tubas and other such brassy instruments entirely unwarrantedly. Like the effort to come off as intense and inspired resulted in some half-assed instrumentation (post script instrumentation, maybe?). I wonder how much the extra days/weeks/months of post production, candle lit behind the computer, really improved the music. or just turned it into this 'highly impressive' BSS sound that frankly, sounds more interesting when it seemed to be figuring itself out in YFIIP. It was the surprises that made YFIIP so fun for me. I simply haven't been surprised yet. The interview made it sound like they were never in the studio together to make music, but rather different people at different times leaving it up to the producer to figure it all out. The record sounds like that, honestly. The man behind the computer, thinking what do we need, what do we need, ah ha! and then just adding something else in a couple places, viola! I'm obviously narrativizing, but I can't shake the feeling. Im gonna keep trying though.