June 22, 2007

Beatzcast #38: Crambe Repetita


Stylus editor Todd Burns presents a mix of electronic music featuring new music from DJ Koze, the Wighnomys, and Glass Candy, as well as new tunes from Mobilee, Cocoon, and Vakant…

01: DJ Koze - Cicely [buy]
02: Portable - Don’t Give Up (Lawrence Remix) [buy]
03: Keytronics Ensemble - Calypso of House (Julien Jabre Remix) [buy]
04: Stephan Bodzin vs. Marc Romboy - Callisto [buy]
05: Glass Candy - Miss Broadway (Belle Epoque) [buy]
06: Wighnomy Brothers - Guppipeitsche [buy]
07: Onur Özer - Halikarnas [buy]
08: Tolga Fidan - Venice [buy]
09: Marcin Czubala - Consigliere [buy]
10: Loco Dice - El Gallo Negro [buy]

Subscribe to the Stycast.
Subscribe to Beatz By The Pound.

June 22, 2007



On this fourth edition of Influx, we profile Chelonis R. Jones. Stylus editor Todd Burns talked to Jones about his upcoming album Chatterton, the cover art to Dislocated Genius, and what’s it like to be the “Franz Kafka of electro-pop”…

01: Chelonis R. Jones - I Don’t Know
02: Marc Romboy vs. Chelonis R. Jones - Helen Cornell
03: Chelonis R. Jones - Sky Is Sea

[INFLUX #001: Orac Records]
INFLUX #002: Hand on the Plow]
INFLUX #003: Foundsound]

October 6, 2006

Marc Romboy - Gemini (The Remixes)

Systematic has had a few great releases recently, in whatever sense each of the 20 or so Stephan Bodzin-related projects released in the last two months are great, rather than interchangeable. This remix package then, is a nice breath of fresh air, with Fairmont supplying the best of the three. He re-works “Model 1601,” arguably the only really great track on the Gemini album, adding his trademark weeping synths and making things that bit more epic. Williams takes on “Impact Disco” and comes up with a quirky electro track, though you can’t escape the feeling that the Williams well has run dry as of late. John Tejada meanwhile re-works “Jigsaw,” and well, it’s not tremendously exciting. However, the great Fairmont mix is worth a purchase, whether physically or digitally.

Systematic / SYST 0026-6
[Ronan Fitzgerald]

March 24, 2006

In The Mix: Todd Burns


1. Cosmic Sandwich - Man in a Box (Daso Remix)
2. Marc Romboy - Disco Impact
3. Sleeparchive - Bleep04
4. Sasse feat. Kiki - Loosing Touch
5. Error Error - Your Everlasting Breath (Paul Kalkbrenner Remix)
6. Lazy Fat People - Dark Water
7. Minilogue - The Girl from Botany Bay
8. Daso - Go Upstairs

February 10, 2006

Marc Romboy vs. Fyta & Ray Willbern - Shake it Again!

The Systematic label boss finds himself on David Duriez’s label after his reworking of Fyta & Ray Willbern’s “Shake It” became too popular to be restricted to an odd vinyl sampler given away at the most recent Miami Winter Music Conference. “Reworking” is a generous word to F & RW, as Romboy uses only the acapella in his version, as do the other remixers here, London’s Mike Monday, and house duo Catwash. All three are aiming their productions towards the underexploited sub-genre of soulful electrohouse, with Romboy just barely coming out on top. It’s a bit of a grower, but would work well sitting next to one of Freestyle Man’s Nightstarter compilations and Quesh’s “Candy Girl.”

Brique Rouge / 051
[Michael F. Gill]