July 20, 2007

Beatzcast #42: Crambe Repetita


Stylus editor Todd Burns presents a mix of electronic music featuring new music from Anja Schneider and the Kindisch label, as well as Dial Records and a remix from the Wighnomy Brothers…

01: Herb LF - Fruchtalarm (Wighnomys Obstkokktailie) [buy]
02: Sten - Undercover [buy]
03: Phonique - Gaga [buy]
04: Einzelkind - Maferefumeco [buy]
05: Anja Schneider - Belize [buy]

Subscribe to the Stycast.
Subscribe to Beatz By The Pound.

June 29, 2007

Beatzcast #39: Crambe Repetita


Stylus editor Todd Burns presents a mix of electronic music featuring new music from Liebe Detail, Get Physical’s Kindisch, and Tattoorec.com…

01: Ink and Needle - Number Seven [buy]
02: Raz Ohara - Whitmey Na (Nass Aka Geiger Ride Vocal Mix) [buy]
03: TNT - L8 [buy]
04: Tiger Stripes - Hooked [buy]
05: Pharoahe Monch - Body Baby (An Optimo [Espacio] Dub) [buy]
06: Mountain People - Mountain003 [buy]
07: Murat Tepeli feat. Prosumer - What Makes You Go for It [buy]
08: Chris Rea - Josephine (Visti Edit) [buy]

Subscribe to the Stycast.
Subscribe to Beatz By The Pound.

June 1, 2007

Beatzcast #35: Crambe Repetita


Stylus editor Todd Burns presents a mix of electronic music…

01: A Mountain of One - Freefall [buy]
02: Bassed on Kyoto - Flower [buy]
03: Christian Prommer´s Drum Lesson - Space Jam 2000.17 [buy]
04: The Skull - Sensuella [buy]
05: Oxia - Not Sure [buy]
06: Dusty Cabinets - Hi-5 [buy]
07: Henrik Schwarz - Walk Music [buy]

Subscribe to the Stycast.
Subscribe to Beatz By The Pound.

May 31, 2007

The Skull - Enter The Skull


I’m so happy Mikael Stavöstrand has stuck at it. After contributing to one of the most lastingly appealing clicks/cuts releases with 2001’s “Reduce” (man, that was six years ago now), Stavöstrand has gone on to “enlarge”, albeit subtly and slowly into something of a techno producer, retaining the lust for the little sound that imbued his earlier work, but sending things kicking and clicking out into the big night with dry overtones and a bassdrum’s irrefutable need to dance all night.

Enter the Skull has all the hallmarks of Stavöstrand’s productions but is equally well-placed on Kindisch, with a fat, housed-up feel that’ll have the Jay Haze lovin’ booty heads juddering and bawling on the floor (in a nice way). “All you Booty Shakers” is the Fuckponiest of the cuts here, even featuring a gratuitous vocal urging you to, guess what, shake your body. “Keep it Moving” adds some disturbing/exciting garbles that sound like the demons in Quake did (a nerd confesses) as well as a massive, evil-sounding flange that attacks just as you start to get comfy with the hellbeast groans in the intro. Just as the undershot jaws and horns are getting too much, “Sensuella” continues the run of apt track titles by paring things back a few notches, with a lonely lady being serenading by sine tones who appear to be telling us that the undead are holding her captive. Or she wants to be held. Or something. “Soundclash” features yet another prisoner of Stavöstrand’s minion-conjuring plugins, and, like the A1, sounds a lot like a Fuckpony record. And that’s not a bad thing. There’s no big track here, but this is still a useful weapon for any micro/mnml leaning DJs who want to add lots of tooth, horn and (of course) skull to their boompty.

Kindisch / KINDISCH 006
[Peter Chambers]

October 20, 2006

Jay Haze feat. Big Bully and Sven VT - Soul in a Bottle


Haze is one of those producers whose persistence and willingness to experiment promises to yield occasional gems and eventual masterworks. His compositions, with an emphasis on atmospheric space juxtaposed with interestingly used vocals and well programmed, slightly off-kilter beats have created floor friendly dubspaces and murky pearls for Karloff, 240 Vaults, and his own Contexterrior imprint. “Soul in a Bottle” sees all these formative elements in full-flight—the tension between playfulness and sincerity is brushed smooth and shiny, and the huge kick, interesting static and “incidental” sounds lend a marvellous opening for the hypnotic “three keys from Chicago” melody that carries the wonderful vocal, which seems to float over it all. Following Holger Zilke and Dave Dk’s great Midishower EP reviewed last week, this one is thoroughly ecstatic, summer sunshine music, skillful enough to give the headz goosebumps and make the pretty girls yelp delightfully. The irony of the EP is that even, as the lyrics suggest, “you can’t put soul in a bottle,” it seems like, occasionally, it finds its way frozen into the scratched surface of records.

Kindisch / KD 002
[Peter Chambers]

July 28, 2006

Einzelkind - Introduction EP

Mallory O’Donnell: The first release from both Einzelkind and Get Physical’s new sublabel Kindisch is, appropriately enough, called “Introduction.” The three cuts spread across this EP stake a claim in deep electro territory, perfect midsummer treats for those who veg out in the haze to some serious low-end. “Marsha” sets the tone, stirring a clipped vocal, rave laserbeams, and a teasingly dropped-in and hastily-withdrawn breakbeat around in the pot to get thing simmering. “Freefall” is simultaneously more banging and weirder—the sound of your hard drive fornicating with your server, while a rugged bassline gurgles away obliviously and spooky synths peer through the blinds. But the best cut here is the last—”Grundstuck,” which Google translates as “basic stucco,” is some serious moody arms-waving action, bringing in muted disco strings, a booty-tormenting bass and some delicious bell tones over the intro and outro.

Ronan Fitzgerald: It’s difficult to see what the point of this sub-label is so far, or how it differs from Get Physical, but I’m going to assume this is a dumping ground/treasure trove for the demos of worthy producers who are nice to chat to, but are not in the inner GPM circle. Anyhow, this is a nice, but rather low key debut for both the label and Einzelkind. Skip straight to “Marsha,” a nice string laden Chicago house track, in the style of DJ T. but with a slightly darker twist.

Kindisch / KD 001