December 22, 2006

2006 Year In Review: Individual Writer Lists

As a companion piece to our 2006 year in review, here are the individual lists/charts from each of our contributors. Happy reading…


November 17, 2006

Beatzcast #11



01: T. Raumschmiere - So Leis Wie Noch Nie
02: Mike Dunn - Face the Nation
03: Roxy Music - The Thrill of It All (M.A.N.D.Y. vs. Booka Shade Re-Work)
04: Antena - Camino Del Sol (Joakim Remix)
05: Rex the Dog - Maximize
06: Simian Mobile Disco - Tits & Acid
07: James Figurine - Eleven Numbers (Superpitcher and Thomas RMX)
08: Ozgur Can - On a Whiter Day
09: Claude VonStroke - Beware of the Bird

June 30, 2006

James Figurine - Forgive Your Friends

James Figurine is the fictional name taken by Jimmy Tamborello (DNTEL, Postal Service) for his band Figurine, and his debut 12” on Monika offers up three remixes of tracks from his upcoming Mistake Mistake Mistake Mistake album. The remix of “Apologies” by his bandmate David Figurine isn’t too far from the type of twee electro-pop you’d hear on any of Figurine’s previous albums, although it is a bit surprising to find John Tejada’s stripped down rework following in the same vein. Led by bright, cheery analog synths, this could be the only time you’d ever call a Tejada remix “precious.” But it’s the remix of “55566688833” by Axel Willner’s The Field that really impresses, showing once again why he’s one of Kompakt’s brightest stars at the moment, finding a sound that’s somewhere between the living room and the club. Willner’s mix feels loosely shaped upon a morning commute to work; its gentle dynamic build-up mimics the rising sun and the wakening body, while the lushly static keyboards are similar to the constant ebb and flow of people, cars, and buses filling the streets.

Monika Enterprise / monika 48
[Michael F. Gill]